Log in Subscribe

Presidential Disaster Declaration Includes Jackson County

Counties impacted by severe weather May 8-9, 2024


FEMA announced last week that federal disaster assistance is available to counties in Tennessee to supplement recovery efforts in the areas affected by the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding from May 8-9, 2024. 

Among those eligible for the assistance is Jackson County.

Public-assistance federal funding is available to the state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding in the following additional counties of Cannon, Cheatham, Giles, Hamilton, Macon, Maury, Montgomery, Polk, Smith, Sumner and Warren. 

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard-mitigation measures statewide. 

Leda M. Khoury has been named Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected areas. Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further assessments.

FEMA, Severe Weather, Flooding May 8-9, 2024